Originally I intended on writing a post on the upcoming Puerto Rican Day Festival and Parade and how glorious celebrating the ethnicity would be.  But as I was browsing for information, I kept coming across the event’s information from last year.  First thing I thought was “WOW, maybe there will not be a parade this summer”, which has been rumored through the grapevine for many years.

As I continued to dig deeper, I stumbled across a calendar in PDF form with a list of cultural events within the city.  To my relief, I saw that Boston will be having a parade this year.  Then I decided to research the Dominican Festival and in the same PDF form, showed its date and location.

My curiosity continued to run its course and my attention was brought to the August Moon Festival celebrated in Chinatown.  It held a presence on the internet; I was able to read on its history, see an agenda of the celebration and there were photos of past events.

What happened to mi orgullo within the Puerto Rican community?  The advertisement is as low as it has ever been which in turn will reflect on the number of attendees and its overall outcome.  When I was a child, the Puerto Rican Festival was from Friday to Sunday with the parade being on Sunday morning as well.  Thousands would flock from all over to experience such a beautiful event of pride and to enjoy famous Latin artists perform.

I am not trying to complain but I am curious of what can be done to increase its population.  I am also curious if we, as Puerto Ricans (though I’m only half), have lost our culture and become “Americanized”?  What can be done to get back to what once was?

Just a few thoughts,

Steph L, Future Boston Alliance Intern

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

Leave a Reply

