My name is Stephen Lewis and I am a new intern at Future Boston Alliance.  I currently am a senior at Mount Ida College studying Business Management.

As many other soon-to-graduate college students, I am haunted by the thought of what’s next?.  It is a big world out there with so many options, how can I find a path that suits me best?  Boston bred my entire life, I had an inclination to move elsewhere such as New York City and start fresh; almost freeing myself from whatever I may be tied down to here.  But I do understand the grass isn’t always greener on the other side.

Being a city kid, I have witnessed the decline in cultural events such as the Puerto Rican Festival.  The passion and leadership isn’t there anymore hence the lack of performance and outcome as well.  I lived in the South End during the 90’s, and believe me when I say GENTRIFICATION IS REAL.  I am not bashing my city but I am not afraid to point out a few flaws.

Recently I realized something, why not try to build where I am already established and help improve the city in areas necessary.  It is the reason I aligned myself with Future Boston Alliance.  I’ve seen and heard people complain about social struggles in the city.  And with all of the complaining done, most have yet to do something about it.  So I do not know what the future holds for me exactly, but with this blog entry I am vowing to be and live the change I would like to see in this beautiful city.  All I ask now is who is willing to join me?

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

3 responses »

  1. Andrew Kinlock says:

    I am willing to join, but what does this look like? How are we (meant generally) going to live the change we want to see?

    What are your thoughts?

  2. Chico Hamlett says:

    Wow, I say this to people I meet everyday. I am from Boston and I may be its biggest advocate people often say I should run for mayor. I feel that some many different people come through Boston to get to the next rung of life and then move on to other cities after sucking up our business and education just to say Boston is wack. Boston is above and beyond other cities in many different ways. The same people that are complaining about Boston don’t attempt to help change what they feel Boston is lacking.

Leave a Reply

