Hello, Future Boston enthusiasts! My name is Marilyn Willmoth, and I will be interning with Future Boston this summer. I am a junior at Emerson College, studying Political communications. I’m especially interested in environmental education, civic engagement and improving the city of Boston.

I am originally from Louisville, a medium sized city in the predominantly rural state of Kentucky. I lived in Kentucky for my first eighteen years, before moving to Boston two years ago to attend Emerson. While living in Kentucky, I focused my activism mostly on environmentalism, working to raise awareness of the devastating effects of mountaintop removal. I was also involved in local theater and coordinating folk art exhibitions.

Despite my attachment to these Louisville institutions, I always knew that I wanted to go to college in the northeast. I was drawn to Boston, as I wanted to be a part of the large community of college students. I was also attracted to Boston because it is a much more liberal city than Louisville. I felt that Boston would be a more open-minded environment, where I could collaborate with like-minded people.

However, it has become apparent that Boston is also flawed. I love living in Boston, but I have considered moving after graduation, as I feel other cities in the country may have more to offer culturally. Currently, I think Boston does not offer as much as other cities in the northeast when it comes to arts, music and innovative business ideas. For this reason, many students become weary of living here in their twenties and thirties, as they seek a more stimulating environment.

I would like to see more art installations, free concerts and later nightlife in Boston. I would also like to see improvements in MBTA, as I rely on public transportation. The service cuts effective in July are upsetting to me, especially as service will be cut off to poorer neighborhoods, where residents rely heavily on MBTA. With these improvements, I think Boston could be a great place to live. Therefore, I wish to work to increase civic engagement in Boston, in an effort to improve our city.

-Marilyn, Future Boston Intern

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

6 responses »

  1. bobloblob says:

    Good luck to you!

  2. skeptic says:

    hi marilyn, it’s great you are interested in improving boston, but since it doesn’t appear that you are registered to vote, isn’t that a good first step?

  3. Adam says:

    Boston could definitely use more art instillations and free concerts. That would be so cool!

  4. Marilyn, come visit us at http://www.boston.figmentproject.org on the Greenway June 2 and 3! You’ll get a taste of what Boston’s been missing…

  5. Nadège says:

    Welcome, Marilyn! I love your enthusiasm. I’ve lived in beantown most of my life, and I too would like to see it flourish to a major international city of caliber. I look forward to seeing the ideas/efforts that you, Malia, and Greg will propose. Cheers!

  6. Jan Dumas says:

    Ya the natives don’t call it Beantown

    The city is full of art, from statues to beautiful old buildings. weekend concerts and free events. Yes we are a bit “low” on nightlife, our bars close at 1PM we don’t have many after hour clubs. We kind of like it that way.

Leave a Reply

