The Red Line Crossing the Longfellow Bridge connecting Cambridge to Boston.

Imagine you’re moving to Boston: You’re from the east coast, so you know of Boston but aside from that, and the occasional Mark Wahlberg movie, you have no idea of what to expect. You spend some time on Wikipedia and wherever Wikipedia leads you to learn about The Emerald Necklace— Boston’s beautiful green space, Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market– Boston’s Iconic Marketplace, and Newbury Street– the place to head when you have an itch to go shopping. By the end of your search you think you’ve learned a lot about the city, but you’re wrong.

I know now that I definitely was not prepared for the expansive and unique city of Boston. The knowledge I found through that few hours of searching proved to be only helpful on trivia night and filling that awkward silence during conversations the first week of Orientation. All I knew then was that within a few hours of driving, my life in a suburban setting was thrown into downtown Boston and that I was surrounded by the Theatre District, Beacon Hill, Back Bay, the Financial District, Chinatown and the Boston Common. I had no idea where was safe to explore, where to get the best sushi, what events were going on, where to take the T, if I should get on a bus, or any of the basic skills and knowledge to live a life in Boston.

The Prudential Center at Night

As a tourist, I’ve seen all the iconic spots of Boston; I’ve seen the huge columns and busy vendors of Faneuil Hall and Quincy Market, I’ve shopped a hole in my budget while on Newbury Street, explored the expansive and historic Harvard Campus, walked the waterfront, taken a leisurely ferry onto the bay to catch a glimpse of a enormous blue whale, and seen the African Penguins and Rockhoppers in the New England Aquarium. As a student, I’ve been able to find my favorite place for sushi in Chinatown, explored the best places to go thrifting in Cambridge, discovered the best place to study on a warm day is the Esplanade, and realized that you never badmouth Boston sports teams unless you want to feel the wrath of every Bostonian in earshot. The best part about Boston is that I’m never bored. I’m still discovering all of the amazing sights, scents, tastes and feelings that Boston has to offer. All I have to say is that if you’re bored in Boston, it is your own fault.

The Middle East in Central Square, Cambridge.

I can safely say that now I consider Boston to be a second home and that I am proud to say so. Boston is a stunning city with erratic weather, a multicultural metropolis flooded by college students, a diverse town still dealing with the last remnants of segregation, and an innovative capitol trying to preserve their gilded history. Boston is built on a reputation that might be responsible for its fall from glory, but it is more than just reputation: Boston is a thriving community of new business, environmentalism, education, philanthropy, art, fashion, and athletics.

Margo, FutureBoston Intern

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

Leave a Reply

