If you’re a Bostonian, you know the weather isn’t always the greatest.  The winters are cold and snowy and the summers are hot and humid.  However, there are a few days when you get that perfect Boston weather.  This past Sunday was one of those days.

It was the Sunday of Fourth of July weekend, or “Chowdahfest.”  I was told if you are in Boston for Chowderfest, you couldn’t miss it.  Since I don’t like seafood and I am not from New England, I never really liked chowder.  However, I wasn’t going to let this stop me from the experience.  I decided I was going to try every one.  I began at the first booth, Clancey’s, and to my surprise, I loved it!  It tasted delicious.   From that point on, none of the other restaurants’ chowder compared and some were down right disgusting.  Each person who buys a ticket to this event votes for his or her favorite in the end.  Clancey’s was the winner in my book.  I even went back for second helpings, which means a lot coming from a “non-chowder lover”.  My friends and I told the restaurant they were our favorite, which made them so happy that they gave us stickers and rub-on-tattoos.  I just checked out Clancey’s website, and I am excited to say they were announced the winner of the 30th Annual Boston Chowderfest 2011.  As if this didn’t make for an awesome Sunday already, my friends and I then decided to check out the SoWa Market in the afternoon.

Located in the South End, the SoWa Market is Boston’s original art and indie design market.  It is open on Sundays from 10am-4pm.  If you ever have a Sunday where you are able to go, do not pass it up!  The market is filled with artists, merchandise vendors, home grown food, fresh plants and flowers, and food trucks.  They have everything from hand made jewelry and paintings, to vintage clothing.  You can try the different kinds of fresh food before you buy it like the pesto at one stand or honey at the next.  If you feel like having junk food, don’t worry, the market also offers this.  There are many food trucks parked at the market offering gourmet ice cream, ribs, hot dogs, and grilled cheese. You could literally spend all day here and not see the same thing twice.  The SoWa Market is split up into three sections.  The fresh food and plants are on one side of the building, while the artists and merchandise vendors are on the other.  Inside the building they sell vintage clothing, furniture, and jewelry.  I tried on a bracelet that dated back to 1865.  Each vendor was so passionate about their merchandise, telling you the story of their individual pieces.  After hearing them speak, you couldn’t help but become interested as well.  I ended up buying a handcrafted ring from a local artist, which I haven’t taken off since.  The market is located at 500 Harrison Ave, Boston, MA.  And if the SoWa Market isn’t good enough, you have the amazing opportunity to check out the store Bobby From Boston while you’re in the area.

Bobby From Boston is an amazing, high-class vintage boutique located in the same plaza as the Market.  Bobby is the owner of this amazing store in the South End that has pieces going back to the 1920s.   It is mostly menswear, but contains a small, yet funky, women’s section also.  Bobby is truly a Boston treasure, being a successful business owner beginning right here in Boston and continuing his store here.  Bobby From Boston is full of antiques that make you feel like you traveled back in time.  The displays are created from old suitcases and boxing gloves.  It isn’t just a store, but an experience.

Boston is full of amazing places that you just have to go and explore.  I was lucky to have a perfect Sunday in Boston, now it’s your turn!

Written by Katie Kearns

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

Leave a Reply

