Part 1: The Winning Game

When I pulled up and started unpacking my car and looking around Boston, I noticed the city had been painted black and yellow.  I was lucky enough to move to Boston during one of the most exciting times in Boston’s sports history.   The Beantown Bruins were playing in the NHL championship against the Vancouver Canucks.  The Bruins had the opportunity to win the Stanley Cup for the first time in thirty-nine years.  Although I was new to the area, I could not help but become enthralled with all the excitement around me.

For Game 7, a few friends and I headed to the famous restaurant Jacob Wirth to get some drinks and watch the game on the big screen.  The whole place was packed with Bruins fans.  We found a table right up front with a perfect view of the TV.  After every goal the restaurant erupted with screams, applause, high fives, and chants.   It was truly something I’ve never experienced before.  It was as if we were all best friends, connected by this common bond.  There it was: the score 4-0 Bruins with 30 seconds left.  They did it! The Bruins had won the Stanley Cup!  You heard the whole restaurant chanting, “We got the cup, we got the cup, we got the cup”.

The once packed restaurant ran out onto the streets to celebrate!  It was as if each of us had personally won the game.  I was hugging men and women I never met before and high fiving people as I walked by them.  What would come next could only be described as thirty-nine years of pent up energy.  The streets filled with people in black and yellow screaming out of pure joy.  All of the people in the local bars piled out onto the streets.  As I walked back in the direction of my apartment, I just watched the crowds in awe.  Cars beeping, people screaming, fireworks flying, Boston was alive!  My friends and I looked at each other knowing we couldn’t let this night end.  We were a part of history; we had just witnessed history.  We had to go to the “Gahden!” We all packed ourselves in on the overcrowded T, excited to arrive at the TD Garden, home of the Boston Bruins.

When we were arrived, we joined the parades of people walking towards the Garden.  It was sheer madness! Thousands of people were already there, climbing on rooftops, climbing on cars, and crowd surfing.  My friends joined right in!  One of the guys I was with started lifting people up, while my other friend crowd surfed for a while.  No sooner did they finish when another friend climbed on the roof of a nearby small building, joining about one hundred other people already there.  From kids to adults, it didn’t matter if we knew each other or not, we were all friends that night.   People young and old were enjoying this moment.  I even saw a man with his small baby in the crowd.  After hours, the excitement wasn’t dying down at all.  I remember a man running past me screaming, “I have fireworks under my shirt”, and then watching him set them off in the streets a few minutes later!  The night was a true, historical celebration!

Part 2: The Victory Parade

The streets of Boston filled with crowds of people as early as 6 am.  Everyone was coming to town for the Bruins Victory Parade.  Diehard fans, fathers and sons, families, college kids, bandwagoners, and sports fans alike were all out on Saturday, June 18th, 2011.  The parade was held on a beautiful sunny Saturday, when most people have the day off from work, and hundreds of thousands of people turned out for the Victory Parade.  The Boston Police Department said that the parade was “the largest celebration in the city’s history”.

I fell under the category of sports fan. Speechless, I was able to witness this momentous event.  As I stood there on the crowded sidewalk, I watched the people, enjoying every second of their enthusiasm.  Grown men in heavy hockey jerseys on a hot day with posters in their hands anxiously awaited the team to come down the road.  You knew when the Duck Boats were turning the corner because the crowd roared with cheers.  It was so exciting as one Duck Boat after another drove by with the Championship team on board.  Black and yellow confetti was flying everywhere as the Dropkick Murphys’ “Tessie” and “Shipping Up To Boston” blasted from speakers on the Duck Boats.  It was a great day to be in Boston!

Written by Katie Kearns

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

Leave a Reply

