I am a new resident to the beautiful city of Boston.  I love this new experience and chapter in my life.  Boston is packed with so much history and the people are all so friendly.  I have been trying to get out to see the city as much as I possibly can, so this weekend I decided to experience Boston nightlife.  It was so great to see how many people were out and how young the bar scene is here; I come from the small city of Scranton Pennsylvania and I’m not use to seeing this.  Every street I walked down had bars with lines of young people waiting outside.  My friends and I picked a bar and were ready for a good night!   We were all laughing, dancing, and having a good time when it hit me: the T stops running at 12:30 am.  How were we going to get home?  The only big city I frequently visit is New York, where the subway never stops.  New York City is nicknamed the city that never sleeps, while Boston has a VERY early bedtime!

When we go out in my hometown there is no transportation system, so we rely on cabs.  Since my friends and I missed the T, I figured we could just catch a cab home.  We left the bar around 1:30 am to find a cab.  Unfortunately, I forgot that all of the young people I had seen earlier would also need a cab to get home.  Everyone was out on the street looking for a way to get home, which turned into sheer madness.  If it wasn’t bad enough that we couldn’t find a ride home, it began to rain.  Taxi after taxi passed by, full of people.  I saw men and women standing in front of cabs not letting them pass, trying to convince the drivers to let them in.  For being such a historical and influential city in business and technology, I wondered why does Boston have such a poor transportation system?

It was also shocking to find out that cabs can make their own decisions whether they want to pick you up or not.   So not only does the T stop running, but also a cab can refuse to pick you up!  As I was walking in the rain in the direction of home still trying to hail a cab, a woman turned to me to tell me about her weekly cab adventures.  She told me to get a cab to pull over she usually has to stand alone on a street corner so the driver sees a young girl alone.   She then said when he pulls over her friends jump in the car with her.  As if the story wasn’t shocking enough, I watched her actually act it out and to my surprise it worked!

After what seemed like an eternity my friends and I used this woman’s advice and were able to catch a cab. As we rode home, we talked to the driver.  He actually told us that he doesn’t like to pick up kids, people coming out of the bars, and minorities, so we were lucky he even stopped for us.   I couldn’t believe a cab driver was admitting to picking and choosing who he provides service to in this city.

I began to think that people coming home from the bars aren’t the only people who need to get around in the middle of the night.  Boston is a big city and in order for it to run a lot of people work late nights.  In addition, all of the people who work at the clubs and bars need a way to get home when their shift is over. If they aren’t coming from high traffic areas, they can’t just walk outside and hail a taxi.   Most people living in the city don’t have cars and the T doesn’t run all night.  I can’t even imagine how difficult it is for them to get around.  This weekend I truly witnessed how poor the transportation system is in Boston.  There needs to be some serious change in the way transportation in Boston works.

Written by Katie Kearns

About Future Boston Alliance

Future Boston Alliance is a non-profit organization seeking to revolutionize our city's creative economy. By advocating for new talent and businesses and holding educational events, we aim to make Boston a hub for collaboration, innovation, and culture.

Leave a Reply

